top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEdwin Wong

大家好,我是Edwin。

Updated: Mar 17, 2019


Welcome and 欢迎 to my blog! This will be my platform for babbling about myself and discussing the struggles and achievements (but mostly struggles) of this next year, so if you're reading this already I appreciate your empathy。

 

Ni Hao, Hello, and Aloha. I'm Edwin, a graduate of UH Manoa (kind of). So, I walked this past December for my double degree in Finance and Chinese Flagship, only because I won't be returning to Hawaii after my year in Nanjing, but I won't receive my official degree and be graduated from the Flagship program until after Nanjing.


Pretending to be a graduate

 

I moved to Hawaii about 4 years ago to attend UH Manoa, and in one week will be embarking on my capstone year for my Chinese Flagship degree in Nanjing. In the summer of 2016 I spent 2 months in Beijing attending the CET immersion program and made some cool pengyou's who I am very anxious to visit. Shouldn't be that difficult to get there from Nanjing I hope. This capstone year will entail a semester of an internship of my choice, which will likely be at X company doing finance related slave work, and a semester of business courses taught in Mandarin as well. Still debating which to take. I'm torn between a few. Send help. I am absolutely addicted to traveling and I've spent the past few years participating in Chinese intensive programs in Beijing (as I've mentioned) and Taiwan, as well as a study abroad in Copenhagen. I love having to adapt to the unfamiliar and being put in an uncomfortable places (there is a line though), it really shows me what my limits are and gives me more lenses to put in my shirt pocket to see the world from.


When I'm not working or doing school work, I really enjoy reading books. Currently reading Laws of Human Nature by Robert Greene. I also like trying new things. Currently doing intermittent fasting and have been for the last 2 weeks, so let's see how long I can last. I also bought a motorcycle and made it my main form of transportation just because I felt like it so that shows how easily I give into my impulses. Lets see. I once auditioned for a part in Mulan, I wish I had a recording of my audition to show you. Oh, I also like fishing. Last week I made the news because I called 9-11 on a friend who was 3 hours overdue in the water. We were spearfishing for octopus and my friend/ coworker Jesse was in the water for a total of 6 hours before getting up and walking around. Naturally the rest of us thought he was sucked out (it was extremely rough that day, even Mike had to get rescued by other spear fishers).






 

Will update soon on Nanjing haps.

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page