top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEdwin Wong

Volunteering in Nanjing

This past Sunday I helped teach soccer to a couple of 6-8 year olds. A previous flagship student introduced me to the HR of a large soccer academy, who were hiring head coaches for their U-8 team. I started playing soccer at 7--about the same age as the kids I coached, and I saw myself in these kids which really made me happy. I remember what it was like learning how to play soccer as a child and I really looked up to my coaches, they were my heroes and I would always do my best to impress them. Soccer wasn't just a sport to me, it taught me discipline and increased my willpower outside the pitch. It gave me confidence, admittedly too much at times, but it helped me believe in myself when no one else would. It also gave me lifelong friends who shared the same joys and defeats throughout my soccer career.


I took them through a few drills that helped me with my ball control as a youth player as well as a couple games that I used to look forward to at the end of practices. The kids were such good kids, which is no surprise given that most parents discipline their children more intensely than western parents. I'm still waiting to hear back from the organization on whether or not I can continue coaching, basically seeing if I'm good enough.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page